Sélectionner une page


Van de Moortel

olivier colot


Frederik Van de Moortel is a Belgian composer and sound designer working from Boom Belgium.
Building a bedroom recording studio at the age of 10 while starting to learn the piano kicked off a fearless ambitious long and winding musical road trip.
Encompassing various styles from avant-garde (Inside) and minimal classic (Le Ciel Flamand) ) to electronic music (Animas) the goal is always the same;
pushing the boundaries of music, sound, and immersion into ever more rich musical and sonic experiences.
The story and the underlying philosophical themes have always been the driving force behind his music and sounds, but the collaborations have been the catalyst.
As head of department Frederik is a true collaborator, valuing the artistic partnership of director and producer greatly.

Frederik has a busy career working on international feature films, series, shorts, and the occasional theatre play,
and is currently working as a composer with Tallulah Schwab on her new international feature film ‘Mr. K’, after finishing 3 other feature films last year; scoring ‘Inside’ by Vasilis Katsoupis, ‘Easy Tiger’ by Karel Tuytschaever , and sound designing and writing the source music for ‘Grand Marin (Woman at Sea)’ by Dinara Drukarova.
Frederik is also an educator working for RITCS and LUCA School of Arts, and giving the occasional lecture for International Filmschule Köhln.


2023 “Inside” Vasilis Katsoupis – Greek/Belgian/American feature film (composer)
2022 “Easy Tiger” Karel Tuytschaever – Belgian feature film (composer)
2022 “Grand Marin”  Dinara Drukarova – France/Iceland feature film (additional source music)
2022 Short Encounters Las Vegas: Award for best original score : “The Hole “
2022 “The Hole” Julie De Clercq – Belgian short film (composer)
2021 “Sound & Fury” Syrian/German feature film documentary (composition/sound design)
2020 ‘The Final Scene” Syrian feature film documentary (composition)
2019 « Lying Angel” Vandenbroele/Mergan/Vandenbemt (composer)
2019 “Cleo” Eva Cools – feature film (music editor and score mixer)
2018 “Animas” José Ortuno – Spanish Feature Film (composition)
2017 ‘Bloeistraat 11’ Nienke Deutsch – animation short (composer)
2016 “Le Ciel Flamand”  Peter Monsaert – Feature Film (composer)